07 February 2009

Muddy Waters & Otis Spann - Collaboration

1 Long Distance Call
2 Baby Please Don't Go
3 I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man
4 Blues Before Sunrise
5 Rolling Stone
6 I Can't Be Satisfied
7 Blow Wind Blow
8 I Feel Like Going Home
9 Walking Through The Park
10 Lovin' Stuff (Encore)

This is the same package as one earlier released in England. It's Muddy with Otis Spann, playing England's ~Manchester Free Trade Hall in 1958 with the Chris Barber Jazz Band backing them. The Tomato version adds "Long Distance Call" and "Baby Please Don't Go" to the original ten-song lineup; overall, the sound is still rough, taken from the original -- and existing -- acetate. Muddy's guitar was deliberately turned down for this concert, making him nigh to inaudible, but he's in fine voice and Spann fills in all the missing holes nicely. Not essential, but an interesting sidebar to his recorded legacy.- Cub Koda, All Music Guide

No comments: