14 June 2008

Muddy Waters & Johnny Winter & James Cotton - Breakin It Up Breakin It Down

1. Black Cat Bone / Dust My Broom 5:53
2. Can't Be Satisfied 3:47
3. Caledonia 6:57
4. Dealin' With the Devil 7:50
5. Rocket 88 2:09
6. I Done Got Over It 5:59
7. How Long Can A Fool Go Wrong 5:53
8. Mama Talk to Your Daughter 5:53
9. Love Her With a Feeling 5:47
10. Trouble No More 4:09
11. Got My Mojo Workin' 4:59

Muddy Waters's career was revitalized in the 1970s when he fell in with Johnny Winter, recording the classic HARD AGAIN and a good deal of live material with Winter and singer/harmonica player James Cotton. BREAKIN' IT UP, BREAKIN' IT DOWN culls from these same live recordings, and features material that wasn't included on MUDDY 'MISSISSIPPI' WATERS LIVE or the subsequent expanded version of that album.

Fans of Waters's music (and his '70s work in particular) will find much of the old magic here. Waters lets loose on several numbers, including his classics "I Can't Be Satisfied" and "Got My Mojo Workin'," while Winter and Cotton offer takes on other blues gems (Winter turns in a smoking version of John Lee Hooker's "I Done Got Over It," for example). The recordings feature chops galore, but never at the expense of that vintage South Chicago sound.

Muddy Waters - vocals, guitar Johnny Winter - vocals, guitarJames Cotton - vocals, harp Bob Morgolin - vocals, guitar Pinetop Perkins - vocals, piano Willie "Big Eyes" Smith - drums Charles Calmese - bass

No comments: