05 February 2009

Little Willie Anderson - Swingin' The Blues (1994)

1. Come Here Mama
2. Willie's Women Blues
3. Lester Leaps In - (TRUE instrumental)
4. Everything Gonna Be Alright
5. Late Night - (TRUE instrumental)
6. 69th Street Bounce - (TRUE instrumental)
7. Looking For You Baby
8. Been Around - (TRUE instrumental)
9. West Side Baby
10. Big Fat Mama

Blues on Blues has been defunct for quite some time, but Earwig recently restored Anderson's only album to digital print. It's a loose, informal affair, Anderson's raw vocals and swinging harp backed by an all-star crew: guitarists Robert Jr. Lockwood, Sammy Lawhorn, and Jimmie Lee Robinson; bassist Willie Black, and drummer Fred Below. Anderson only revived one Walter standard, having brought a sheaf of his own intermittently derivative material to the session (although he does take a stab at bluesifying Lester Young's jazz classic "Lester Leaps In"). ~ Bill Dahl, All Music Guide

No comments: