25 February 2009

Joe Bonamassa - The Ballad Of John Henry (2009)

01. The Ballad Of John Henry
02. Stop!
03. Last Kiss
04. Jockey Full Of Bourbon
05. Story Of A Quarryman
06. Lonesome Road Blues
07. Happier Times
08. Feelin' Good
09. Funkier Than A Mosquito's Tweeter
10. The Great Flood
11. From The Valley
12. As The Crow Flies

The Ballad of John Henry is Bonamassa's seventh studio album, and the follow-up to his critically-acclaimed 2007 release, Sloe Gin. Much like his previous work, The Ballad of John Henry is a high-octane showcase for Bonamassa's blues-rock fervor and stunning six-string wizardry.

Featuring 12 tracks, the long anticipated Kevin Shirley (Led Zeppelin, Iron Maiden, Aerosmith, The Black Crowes) produced follow up to 2007's critically acclaimed 'Sloe Gin', the album consists of 6 Bonamassa originals coupled with six cover versions, including Tom Waits' "Jockey Full Of Bourbon," British soulstress Sam Brown's "Stop!," the Anthony Newley/Leslie Bricusse penned "Feelin' Good"(Covered throughout the years by artists as diverse as Black Cat Bones, Nina Simone, John Coltrane, Traffic, Muse and George Michael amongst others), Ike And Tina Turner's "Funkier Than A Mosquito's Tweeter" and Tony Joe White's "As The Crow Flies"(Famously recorded by the late, great Irish blues guitar legend Rory Gallagher).

Joe Bonamassa - Guitar, Vocals
Blondie Chaplin - Guitar (Rhythm)
Anton Fig - Drums
Rick Melick - Keyboards, Vocals (bckgr)
Carmine Rojas - Bass
Lee Thornburg - Arranger, Brass
David Woodford - Saxophone

No comments: