23 January 2009

Son Seals - The Son Seals Blues Band (1973)

1 Mother-In-Law Blues
2 Sitting at My Window
3 Look Now, Baby
4 Your Love Is Like a Cancer
5 All Your Love
6 Cotton Picking Blues
7 Hot Sauce (Instrumental)
8 How Could She Leave Me
9 Going Home Tomorrow
10 Now That I'm Down

The Chicago mainstay's debut album was a rough, gruff, no-nonsense affair typified by the decidedly unsentimental track "Your Love Is like a Cancer." Seals wasn't all that far removed from his southern roots at this point, and his slashing guitar work sports a strikingly raw feel on his originals "Look Now, Baby," "Cotton Picking Blues," and "Hot Sauce" (the latter a blistering instrumental that sounds a bit like the theme from Batman played sideways). ~ Bill Dahl, All Music Guide

John Riley - Bass
Johnny Big Moose Walker - Organ
Charles Caldwell - Drums
Son Seals - Guitar, Vocals,

No comments: