11 January 2009

Johnny Winter - Johnny Winter (1969)

1. I'm Yours and I'm Hers
2. Be Careful With a Fool
3. Dallas
4. Mean Mistreater
5. Leland Mississippi Blues
6. Good Morning Little School Girl
7. When You Got a Good Friend
8. I'll Drown in My Tears
9. Back Door Friend

Personnel include: Johnny Winter; John Turner, Tommy Shannon,
Edgar Winter, Willie Dixon.

Winter's debut album for Columbia was also arguably his bluesiest and best. Straight out of Texas with a hot trio, Winter made blues-rock music for the angels, tearing up a cheap Fender guitar with total abandon on tracks like "I'm Yours and I'm Hers," "Leland Mississippi Blues," and perhaps the slow blues moment to die for on this set, B.B. King's "Be Careful With a Fool." Winter's playing and vocals have yet to become mannered or clichéd on this session, and if you've ever wondered what the fuss is all about, here's the best place to check out his true legacy. ~ Cub Koda, All Music Guide

No comments: