15 December 2011

Eric Clapton & Buddy Guy - Live At Ronnie Scott's (1987)

01 Sweet Home Chicago
02 Play the Blues
03 Key to the Highway
04 Walking the Dog
05 Stormy Monday (part 1)
06 Real Mother for Ya'
07 Stormy Monday (part 2)
08 Jam
09 Worried Life Blues (part 1)
10 Worried Life Blues (part 2)
11 Hurt So Bad
12 Wanna Make Love
13 Someday Baby*
14 Early in the Morning*
15 Rock Me Baby*

* Bonus Tracks, Dingwalls on December 3, 1985

 A stunning performance, highly recommended. Several sources refer to  this disc as a soundboard but it's actually an excellent quality  audience recording. Recorded in a small club, it does not have the  "boominess" associated with many audience recordings. Buddy Guy's guitar  is clearly audible, and at the same volume level in the mix as EC's -  this is not the case with the soundboard material recorded and broadcast  from the show, in which Guy's guitar is very low in the mix and almost  inaudible. A careful listen during quiet passages reveals that all  instruments have some room reverb, as opposed to the "close" sound  associated with being close-miked. In particular, listen carefully on  headphones during the (stunning) performance of "Wanna Make Love to You"  and the room echo on all instruments is easy to identify during quiet  passages. "Wanna Make Love" is one of the down-and-dirtiest, funky,  greasy blues numbers you will ever hear - this is one that will grow  hair on your chest.

Live At Ronnie Scott's από Eric Clapton & Buddy Guy on Grooveshark

Bootleg  ηχογραφημένο στις 6 Οκτωβρίου 1987 σε ένα μικρό club κάπου στο Λονδίνο

No comments: