13 June 2008

Luther Allison - Luther's Blues

1. Luther's Blues
2. Someday Pretty Baby
3. Easy Baby
4. Part Time Love
5. Now You Got It
6. K.T.
7. Let's Have a Little Talk
8. Driving Wheel
9. Into My Life
10. San-Ho-Zay - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
11. Bloomington Closing - (previously unreleased, early version, bonus track)
12. I'm Gonna Miss My Baby

Luther's Blues is where Luther Allison began to come into his own, developing a fluid, gutsy style full of soulful string bending. There are still a few weak spots, but the album remains an effective slice of contemporary Chicago blues. ~ Thom Owens, All Music Guide

Recorded at Motown Studios, Detroit, Michigan and The Ann Arbor Blues Festival, Ann Arbor, Michigan on September 9, 1973. Includes liner notes by Bill Dahl. Originally released on Gordy (G967).

Personnel includes: Luther Allison (vocals, electric guitar, slide guitar, harmonica); Ray Goodman, Gene Block (guitar); Paul White, Tom Curry (piano, organ); Bob Babbitt, Gary Beam (bass); K.J. Knight, Andrew Smith (drums).

Luther's Blues από Luther Allison by dimis papas on Grooveshark

No comments: